• CEOS-WGCV - SAR Subgroup
  • The Committee on Earth Observation Satellites
  • Working Group on Calibration and Validation
  • Synthetic Aperture Radar Subgroup
Virtual Workshop Program - October 6-8, 2020

The Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) Working Group on Calibration and Validation (WGCV), SAR Subgroup, Synthetic Aperture Radar Workshop 2020 (CEOS SAR 2020) will be held virtually this year due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. This meeting will be held October 6-8, 2020, and will focus on Cal/Val discussions rather than formal presentations. For this workshop, emphasis has been put on discussion sessions rather than broadly soliciting presentations. However, the chairs of these sessions have requested short presentations from some of the membership to kick off the discussions.

Three discussion sessions have been planned, focusing on the following topics:

  1. SAR Cal/Val Targets;
  2. Analysis Ready Data (more precisely, CEOS ARD for Land, or CARD4L) and,
  3. Operating mission updates and the question of RF interference (space-to-space, ground-to-space).
Once logged-in with your CEOS SAR member credentials, please access to the SAR Subgroup Doc Repository to get the Workshop Program with the Connection info and instructions for uploading presentations.
Content
Connecting to Sessions
If you have low bandwidth or a poor internet connection, it can impact your connection experience; virtual meeting software generally show a notification on-screen to let you know. Here are some tips on working with limited bandwidth:
  1. We recommend you turn off your web camera.
  2. Close unnecessary applications.
  3. If you have no WiFi: use the direct dial numbers for your meeting, if provided with the invite.
  4. We recommend you mute yourself if you are not speaking.
  5. Most virtual meeting software like Zoom or Webex can run outside of your VPN: Turning off your VPN certainly will lead to a better audio and video experience.
Session 1, Oct.6 and 7
CEOS SAR Cal-Val Targets

This session is split in two time zones: Session 1.1 (East) and session 1.2 (West)

Discussion Topics

SAR WGCV target database:

  • Requirements for calibration arrays and natural targets locations to be included in the CEOS SAR WGCV target database
  • Calibration arrays to be included in this CEOS SAR WGCV network
  • Vetting and annual review (creation of a subgroup)
  • Information to include: survey date, accuracy, etc.
  • Service requests facilitation
  • Future joint use
Calibration standards and metrics:
  • Agree on performance metrics definitions (radiometric, geometric, pointing)
Minimum standards for calibration:
  • Techniques, minimum standards
  • Recommendations on calibration performance
Session 1.1, CEOS SAR Cal-Val Target – West
  BEGIN END PLACE

2020-10-06

12pm

3pm

Fairbanks

 

1pm

4pm

Los Angeles

 

4pm

7pm

Montreal

 

5pm

8pm

Buenos Aires

 

10pm

1am next day

Rome/Munich

2020-10-07

5am

8am

Tokyo

 

7am

10am

Canberra

 

Host: Stephane Cote

Co-hosts: Bruce Chapman, Ronald Muellerschoen

Session 1.2, CEOS SAR Cal-Val Target – East
  BEGIN END PLACE

2020-10-06

11pm

2am

Fairbanks

2020-10-07

midnight

3am

Los Angeles

 

3am

6am

Montreal

 

4am

7am

Buenos Aires

 

9am

noon

Rome/Munich

 

4pm

7pm

Tokyo

 

6pm

9pm

Canberra

 

Host: Jens Reimann

Co-hosts: Dirk Geudtner, Medhavy Thankappan

Agenda Session 1.1 (West)
START TIME (H:MIN) DURATION (MIN) TITLE/TOPIC AUTHORS/FACILITATORS

0

5

Objectives/Motivation

Stephane Cote, Bruce Chapman, Ronald Muellerschoen

 

 

Talks: current state of the art for operating a calibration array including construction, survey techniques, maintenance, etc.

 

5

10

Strawman requirements for deploying and maintaining SAR Cal/Val targets

Ronald Muellerschoen

15

10

SAOCOM Calibration Targets

Marc Thibeault

25

10

RCM Calibration Targets

Stephane Cote

35

2:15

Discussion

All

 

 

 

 

2:50

10

Summary/Actions

Stephane Cote, Bruce Chapman, Ronald Muellerschoen, all

3:00

 

End

 

 
Agenda Session 1.2 (East)
START TIME (H:MIN) DURATION (MIN) TITLE/TOPIC AUTHORS/FACILITATORS

0

5

Objectives/Motivation

Jens Reimann, Dirk Geudtner, Medhavy Thankappan

 

 

Talks: current state of the art for operating a calibration array including construction, survey techniques, maintenance, etc.

 

5

10

Status Update for the Australian CR Array

Medhavy Thankappan

15

10

Status of Sentinel-1 Calibration Transponders

Dirk Geudtner

25

10

Calibration targets for ALOS-series L-band SAR

Takeshi Motohka

35

10

TBD

Christoph Gisinger

 

 

 

 

45

2:05

Discussion

All

 

 

 

 

2:50

10

Summary/Actions

Jens Reimann, Dirk Geudtner, Medhavy Thankappan, all

3:00

 

End

 

 
Session 2, Oct 7-8 
CARD4L Updates and Developments
  BEGIN END PLACE

2020-10-07

3pm

5pm

Fairbanks

 

4pm

6pm

Los Angeles

 

7pm

9pm

Montreal

 

8pm

10pm

Buenos Aires

2020-10-08

1am

3am

Rome/Munich

 

8am

10am

Tokyo

 

10am

noon

Canberra

 

Host: Ake Rosenqvist

Co-host: Franz Meyer

Agenda Session 2
START TIME (H:MIN) DURATION (MIN) TITLE/TOPIC AUTHORS/FACILITATORS

0

5

Objectives/Motivation

Bruce Chapman

 

 

 

 

5

15

CARD4L Specification Structure and Sample Products

Ake Rosenqvist

 

 

 

 

 

 

CARD4L SAR Specification Updates:

 

20

10

Normalised Radar Backscatter (NRB)

David Small

30

10

Polarimetric Radar (POL)

François Charbonneau

40

10

Geocoded SLC (GSLC)

Howard Zebker

50

10

Interferometric Radar (InSAR)

Matt Garthwaite

1:00

15

CARD4L Assessment Process and Role of the WGCV

Medhavy Thankappan

 

 

 

 

1:15

40

Panel Discussion

Franz Meyer, Presenters and Invited Speakers

 

 

 

 

1:55

5

Summary/Actions

Ake Rosenqvist, Bruce Chapman, all

2:00

 

End

 

 
Session 3, Oct 8 
Updates for operating missions/discussions on space-to-space and ground-to-space RFI
  BEGIN END PLACE

2020-10-08

4am

7am

Fairbanks

 

5am

8am

Los Angeles

 

8am

11am

Montreal

 

9am

noon

Buenos Aires

 

1pm

4pm

Rome/Munich

 

9pm

midnight

Tokyo

 

11pm

2am next day

Canberra

 

Host: Dirk Geudtner

Co-host: Stephane Cote

Agenda Session 3
START TIME (H:MIN) DURATION (MIN) TITLE/TOPIC AUTHORS/FACILITATORS

0

5

Objectives/Motivation

Dirk Geudtner, Stephane Cote

 

 

 

 

 

 

Space-to-Space and Ground-to-Space RFI

 

5

10

Sentinel-1 Space-to-Space RFI: Experimental Results

Francisco Ceba Vega, Dirk Geudtner

15

10

Space-to-Space RFI: Orbital Considerations

Itziar Barat, Berthyl Duessman

25

10

Space-to-Space RFI Affecting Sentinel-1: Identification and Investigation of Sources

Guillaume Hajduch

35

10

RADARSAT-2 Operational Space-to-Space RFI Prediction/RCM RFI Test with Sentinel-1

Dan Williams, Melanie Lapointe

45

10

Operational monitoring of C-Band RFI Contamination for Mitigation and New Mission Design

Riccardo Piantanida, Nicollo Franceschi

55

10

Ground-based RFI in L-band imagery (PALSAR)

Franz Meyer

 

 

 

 

1:05

20

RFI Discussion

All

 

 

 

 

 

 

Operating Mission Updates

 

1:25

10

Recent ALOS 2 Cal-Val Outcomes

Takeshi Motohka

1:35

10

Sentinel-1A/B Cal-Val Status

Nuno Miranda

1:45

10

RCM Cal-Val Update

Melanie Lapointe

1:55

10

RADARSAT-2 Update

Dan Williams

2:05

10

Updates on PAZ System

Juan Manuel Cuerda Muñoz

2:15

10

Calibration Aspects of KompSAT-5

Dochul Yang

2:25

10

TerraSAR-X/TanDEM-X Cal-Val Status

Allan Bojarski, Marco Schwerdt

 

 

 

 

2:35

20

Missions Discussion

All

 

 

 

 

2:55

10

Summary/Actions

Dirk Geudtner, Stephane Cote, All

3:05

 

End